Field of Practice

imgres-2.jpg

I have always been extremely interested in the making of films and television shows. It was the main reason why I started a Communications and Media degree and chose a major in Digital Media. At first I wasn’t sure which field of expertise I would find myself in but through a series of University assessments I have found myself most interested in video editing. Such assignments included storytelling through video for my journalism subject and the camera less film project for last year’s media class. Although I loved several elements in the making of these, what I was drawn to most was in fact the editing process. These assessments taught me a number of technological skills that are required when pursuing a career in this field. However, to further broaden my knowledge, practice and research in this area is a major priority. In saying this I recently searched my newly found field of practice and came across a website that interviewed a couple of freelance editors who shared some advice about getting started in the industry. Reading through I found their guidance extremely interesting and helpful such as making your own films, networking, researching and practicing (The Art Project, 2014).

Along with University, it was initially great films and TV shows that made me interested in the field altogether. A sample of these include:

  • Me, Earl and the Dying Girl
  • Pulp Fiction
  • Breaking Bad
  • Deadpool
  • The Dark Knight
  • The Perks of a Wallflower

imgres-3.jpg

Further researching I found a number of crucial skills needed as an aspiring film editor are:

  • A keen eye for detail and a critical mind
  • Creativity and a passionate interest in editing
  • Patience and concentration
  • The ability to listen to others and to work well as part of a team
  • A high level of self-motivation, commitment and dedication
  • Organisational and time management skills
  • Communication skills (both written and oral)
  • The Ability to work under pressure and meet deadlines

(Gemma Halder, 2016)

All these skills are extremely necessary in surviving the film and TV industry however in addition to these I would also like to expand my knowledge of the technological side. The applications and video editing tools I would most like to learn include:

  • Final Cut Pro X
  • Adobe Premiere Elements 11
  • Adobe Premiere Pro CC

imgres-1.jpg

References:

2014, ‘How to become a Film Editor’, The art career project, viewed 27th February 2017
<http://www.theartcareerproject.com/become-film-editor/>

Halder, G, 2016, ‘Job profile: film/ video editor’, Prospects UK, viewed 27th February 2017
<https://www.prospects.ac.uk/job-profiles/film-video-editor>

Leave a Reply

