Television Transition: Reflection

images-3.jpg

Introduction:

The idea of the television has interested me my whole life. As an activity it takes up most of my time, as a subject it is something I am truly passionate in and something I strive to learn more about. Recently, I have researched more into the transition of the television throughout history, especially its shift away from a traditional family activity. Knowing I wanted to do this topic for my digital project I gained a greater insight on my own television patterns. I discovered that every night my family eats dinner together in front of the TV but after that we each separate and do our own thing. I usually sit in my room and watch all my TV shows and films through my laptop usually via streaming sites. I found every night I would sit by myself watching hours upon hours of content. It made me wonder if I was the only one who prefers watching these shows alone. Asking around I soon found I was not alone and it gave me the idea to start a survey examining and asking about individual’s television preferences. Researching about the topics I found a large number of useful facts and statistics in regards to the history of the television and its changing audience. What I could not find was any answers or experiences from real people who wanted to share their true thoughts. This is why I decided to conduct a survey, it allowed me to compile a large number of individual’s opinions on the topic in a short amount of time span with a large amount of results.

Methodology:

In order to conduct my research, I used two data methods. Firstly, I collected a series of information and statistics from online resources including reports, articles and essays that could support my idea and argument. The information I would be receiving later on would be from a sample size group roughly from the Wollongong area and majority from an age group of 18-25 year olds. The data I collected was conducted from large organisations around Australia averaging people’s television activities. I believed I needed this information to help strengthen my digital project and help shape the question I would put forward while also helping compare my sample group to the rest of Australia. In the end I included a total of five resources as an introduction to my own conducted research. The carried out survey was created using the website Survey Monkey. It comprised of ten questions including the asking of consent, their age, their television habits, what they believe the concept of watching television means to them and lastly if they agree that traditional television viewing is declining. In order to collect this information, the survey was promoted on a series of platforms including Facebook, Twitter, Reddit and WordPress allowing me to gain a large quantity and the best quality of answers.

After receiving and collecting this data it was then compiled into a research report like structure and published on my WordPress blog. I believed publishing it on this platform would receive the best attention and use out of it as it already has an established audience, majority being University students who may gain great use out of it in future.

Learning and Development:

Initially, I wanted my digital project to be in a report like sense as it is something I believe I could gain the most out of. I also considered the fact that for future purposes and future readers that it could be useful for follow up assessments and projects. Even future researchers who wanted to focus on a small sample size and look into a series of individual’s television preferences. Overall, this digital project helped me further understand the concept of what it takes to create a digital narrative and carry out my own conducted research.

For Future:

For future consideration I may further expand my knowledge by reaching out, finding and utilising more digital tools that could potentially help strengthen my digital narrative. For this topic I believed that a report structure would work best but I could possibly take a different angle and maybe instead of conducting an anonymous survey create a series of interviews and publish them on a platform other than WordPress, such as YouTube.

Concluding thoughts:

Looking at the amount of research, information and overall knowledge I have gained I believe this digital project was well worth it. It reports on the transition of the television and how it is perceived at this point in time and in the future it can be looked back on and potentially be learnt from again.

Leave a Reply

